15 Black Women and Their Hair: Photo Essay

As part 3 of this ‘Black Women and Hair’ exploration, I asked 15 black women to send me a picture of themselves showing off their favorite hairstyle. This photo essay shows the versatility of our styles and the range of our views on hair. These women rock their hairstyles with confidence whether they decide on curls, twists, weaves, or perms. Like Maya Angelou says “hair is a woman’s glory,” and these 15 women know exactly what that means.

Here’s what these beautiful ladies had to say about their tresses:

“I like my hair in this style because it’s so easy. Ever since I big chopped this has been my “go to” style whenever any other style attempt has failed.” -Kayla

Pictured: Kayla

Pictured: Kayla

 

 

 

 

“I like this style because I don’t have to put a comb to my hair for four days! It’s hard to find a style that requires low maintenance.” -Nisla

unnamed-2

Pictured: Nisla

 

 

 

 

“I love my hair in twists because it shows my heritage. It’s natural and beautiful. I love my true self.” -Kia

Pictured: Kia

Pictured: Kia

 

 

 

 

“I like my hair in this style because I love extensions. It brings me comfort and brings out my features.” -Valerie

Pictured: Valerie

Pictured: Valerie

 

 

 

 

“My hair is chemical free. It’s stronger and not breaking as easily– and I can be creative with it. I look beautiful. I love it.” -Shandelle

Pictured: Shandelle

Pictured: Shandelle

 

 

 

 

“My hair is a style without a style in a way because of it’s unique color. Even wearing it straight makes a statement and earns me a lot of praise from people.” -Camille

Pictured: Camille

Pictured: Camille

 

 

 

 

“I like my hair in this look because I felt super confident, like my hair never needed a perm or weave to boost my confidence. Actually, I was terrified of doing it because I knew the stares would’ve come, but I received compliments so it helped a lot.” -Shadea

Pictured: Shadea

Pictured: Shadea

 

 

 

 

“I like my hair when it’s straight but has a little curl to the ends. That way, when I run my fingers through it, it gives the illusion that my hair is in layers without having to put the scissor anywhere close to it!” -Nathalie

Pictured: Nathalie

Pictured: Nathalie

 

 

 

 

“Although I love my natural hair, I love length and feel sexy with these extensions.” -Staci

Pictured: Staci

Pictured: Staci

 

 

 

 

“I absolutely love my hair short! It’s so much more manageable and healthy than when it is long.” -Candice

unnamed-10

Pictured: Candice

 

 

 

 

“I love my hair nice and straight. It’s easy to maintain, and I get to show off it’s natural length.” -Desiree

Pictured: Desiree

Pictured: Desiree

 

 

 

 

“I love this style because it’s got movement and gives me that feeling of ‘I’m so worth it!’” -Monique

Pictured: Monique

Pictured: Monique

 

 

 

 

“I like this style because it allows me to rock my hair in it’s natural state and be comfortable with who I am.” -Karen

Pictured: Karen

Pictured: Karen

 

 

 

 

“I like my hair in this style because it gives me more of a naturally classy look” -Racquel¬†

Pictured: Racquel

Pictured: Racquel

 

 

 

 

“My go-to hairstyle is the twisty fro. It best represents my true nature: unruly and all over the place. Most people just think it’s cool.” -Lisa

Pictured: Lisa

Pictured: Lisa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So what’s your favorite style? Let me know in the comments section below!

Standard

Leave a Reply

